What is a Chartered Management Institute Level 5 Qualification equivalent to?

Chartered Management Institute Level 5 courses are equivalent to a Higher National Diploma or Foundation Degree level Qualification. They are geared towards mid-level managers, designed to build their leadership and management skills.

What do course levels actually mean?

Many study centres offer various levels of courses for upskilling managers. But what do the levels actually mean in terms of the academic level you will be studying at? And with various awarding bodies such as CMI and ILM offering management qualifications at different levels how can you know what course is equivalent to another? Here’s what you need to know about the different levels of management qualifications available so you can decide which higher education qualification will match your needs.

How do I know what Level course is right for me?

A Chartered Management Institute Qualification at any level is a prestigious management qualification which can help you stand out from the crowd when applying for entry-level jobs, promotions, or new roles.

However, like many Qualifications, CMI qualifications can be studied at different levels and which level is right for you will depend on your current education level and your level of experience in the field.

What is the Regulated Qualifications Framework?

The UK’s Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) categorises qualifications in England based on their size (volume of work and time it will take to study), and their level of challenge or difficulty. A qualification can range from Level 1 (equivalent to GSCE level study) to level 8 (PHD study).

On the RQF scale,  Chartered Management Institute (CMI) Level 5 qualifications are, unsurprisingly, level 5, meaning they are a similar level of study to if you did a foundation degree, a bit harder than A-levels, but a bit below degree level study.

Why study a CMI Level 5 Qualification?

CMI Level 5 courses are designed to give you a solid foundation in all the practical skills you need for a career in management and will help you progress in your management and leadership career – giving you the necessary knowledge to take your next step.

These qualifications will help you to get your career off the ground. As CMI is the only professional body able to award chartered status, if you study for a Level 5 Diploma and above you’ll have the opportunity to gain the highest recognition in management immediately improving your career and promotion prospects.

What are the different types of Qualification?

At each RQF level, CMI Qualifications are available as Diplomas, Certificates, and Awards. These are just different forms a Qualification can take, depending on the number of units and how long it takes.

  • CMI Awards– take an average of up to 1-3 months to complete. These are short, crash courses, covering a wide variety of topics in slightly less detail.
  • CMI Certificates- take up to 3-6 months to attain. These are slightly longer courses covering a wide range of topics but in more detail.
  • CMI Diplomas- the most in-depth courses, which take between a year and two years to complete.
Want to know more about the DMI courses available at MMC Learning?

Check out our further reading detailing course content, teaching, benefits and much more!

Related Courses and Qualifications

Related Articles – Study Advice

Related Articles – Career Progression & Personal Development